LibGuides: Company Information: Newspapers

Sign up to PressReader - an exciting new source of popular magazines and news from across the globe. No limits on downloads, great features including language translation, text to speech for listening to stories, topic alerts and more.

Sign in to FT.com with your University email address and click SSO Sign in. See guide for instructions and what happens if you previously had a password.

Guides to Searching Newspapers

NexisUK Quick Guide
NexisUK - Search a specific newspaper
A search in NexisUK usually produces results from many different newspaper titles. This guide explains how you can choose to search only in a specific newspaper e.g. the Financial Times, The Independent, New York Times etc.

Alternative Access to Financial Times Content

You can also search for Financial Times articles published up to 30 days ago in the NexisUK database. Use the Financial Times [Electronic Resource] link from the Library Catalogue which takes you a Nexis search page set up with the Financial Times filter. Alternatively follow the instructions in the guide NexisUK - Search a specific newspaper.

Recommended Newspaper Resources

Nexis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases containing the content of over 23,000 news and business resources from all over the world.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Financial Times (ft.com) - requires account This link opens in a new window
Sign in with your University email address and if required click SSO Sign in and follow prompts to login to your University account.The first time you sign in you will be asked for some registration details.

How to Sign In or Register for the FT

Times Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Times Higher (THE) is one of the leading sources of news and analysis from across academia.
Click the red 'Person' icon at top right corner and sign in (or first time users select Register),
PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sign up for a University of Stirling PressReader account to bring you unlimited access to over 7000 magazines and newspapers. Includes publications from over 100 countries in more than 60 languages. Use the translation features, text to speech and download articles if you wish. See how to sign up for an account

Newspaper Archives and Historical Sources

British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of historical British newspapers, covering the 17th century up to 1950. Includes many local and regional newspapers.
Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2010 This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010, is the complete searchable facsimile run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper can be searched and browsed individually and page by page. This is an essential, comprehensive and unbiased research tool for everyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Searches 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century UK Periodicals, British Library Newspapers, Financial Times Historical Archive, Sunday Times Digital Archive, Times Digital Archive, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text of selected influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of 19th century British society. This resource can also be searched as part of the British Newspapers Collection.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 1 million newspaper pages, Acts of Parliament and pamphlets from the 17th and 18th centuries.
Scotsman 1817-1950 This link opens in a new window
Archive of The Scotsman newspaper
Sunday Times Archive This link opens in a new window
Archive of The Sunday Times from 1822 - 2006. See also The Times Digital Archive.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of The Times newspaper from 1785 to 2019. See also The Sunday Times archive

Chronicling America
Information about, and access to, digitised historic American newspapers.

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Digitised newspapers from the Caribbean.
California Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to digitised versions of significant newspapers published in California between 1846 and 1922. The site contains over 6 million articles.
Florida Digital Newspaper Library This link opens in a new window
Access to digitised versions of over 1.5 million pages of historic and contemporary newspapers from Florida. To search the site enter your search term and change the search box from "Full Citation" to "Full Text".
Historic Oregon Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to historic (1860 - 1922) and recent (2009 - 2011) newspapers from Oregon.
Kentucky Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Historic newspapers from Kentucky can be searched as part of a wider digital library. Covers the period 1860 to 1922.
Old Fulton New York State historic newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to digitised versions of old newspapers from New York State. Comprehensive searching advice is available from the wesbite. Over 26 million newspaper pages are available.
Portal to Texan History - newspaper search This link opens in a new window
Part of a wider Texan history resource, use this to search almost 600 newspapers from Texas.
Wyoming Newspaper Project This link opens in a new window
Access to all the historical newspapers published in Wyoming between 1849 and 1922.

Newspapers at the National Library of Scotland

National Library of Scotland Online Newspaper Collections
Register (join) with the NLS to access a range of newspaper databases including Factiva, Black Newspaper Collection, NewsBank Access U.K. & Scotland Newspapers,InfoTrac and Scotsman Digital Archive.

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian
Ask us for help to use any of the resources or request a meeting with your Librarian.

Company Information: Newspapers