Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Midwifery
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended Resources from the A-Z
Full text access to articles on nursing and allied fields, health education, emergency services, occupational therapy, etc.
Covers material from 1982.
MIDIRS Midwifery Digest
Midwifery Digest is published 4 times a year. Covers news, reviews, original articles and reprints of the best maternity and infant care information from journals around the world.
Provides full text access to 550 journals. Also abstracts and indexing for 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
The Knowledge Network is the new name for NHS Scotland e-Library. It provides access to a wide range of databases, electronic journals, clinical guidelines and websites in all aspects of healthcare. Some materials are freely available to the public. Students and staff in the Department of Nursing and Midwifery and those working in partnership with the NHS can apply for an Athens username and password to access the full range of resources on this site.
The major resource for information on evidenced based medicine. The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
Internurse provides full text articles from 18 major nursing journals.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Medline - via EBSCO
Medline covers medicine and nursing. It is created by the National Library of Medicine and uses MESH subject headings to locate resources.
Medline - via OVID
An index to the health, medical, biomedical and nursing literature. OVID Medline contains references from over 4000 journals. It covers the period 1946 to present and is updated weekly.
Your Librarian - Stirling Campus
The Knowledge Network replaced the NHS Scotland e-library in January 2010. It provides access to a wide range of databases, electronic journals, clinical guidelines and websites about healthcare. Some materials are freely available other require an NHS Athens password.