LibGuides: Marketing: Market Reseach, Data & Statistics

United Kingdom

UK Data Service
Explore the UK's largest collection of UK and international social, economic and population data.
more...less...
Access to the UK's largest social research data collection. Contains of 6000 data collections, including UK census data, government funded surveys, longitundinal studies, international macrodata, qualitative data, and business microdata. You may need to click 'Login' and enter 'University of Stirling' into the institutions box. You may need to accept 'special conditions' to use some of the datasets.

A range of tutorials about the UK Data Service is available from YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuHmFA7iAlct9eNgEE1a_BA
UK Data Archive
The UK's largest collection of social and economic data going back to 1967.
Office for National Statistics (& The Census)
The UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and the recognised national statistical institute of the UK.
Institute for Social and Economic Research
Longitudinal data and analysis providing evidence on how people’s lives are changing over time.
UK Economy Statistics

Scotland

Scottish Government Statistics
Listed by broad themes e.g. labour market, social and welfare, business, enterprise and energy.
National Records of Scotland
Satistical information about Scotland’s people. Includes links to statistics by theme and Census data.

Statistical Accounts of Scotland This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web version of the old (first) and new (second) Statistical Accounts of Scotland, first published in 1791-99 and 1845 respectively. Covers a wide range of topics: wealth, class and poverty; climate, agriculture, fishing and wildlife; population, schools and the moral health of the people. Keyword and phrase searching of the whole text is possible.

Tourism

Eurostat - Tourism (EU Member countries)
Includes participation by socio-demogaphic characteristics.
United Nations WorldTourism Organisation
VisitBritain
Office for National Statistics - Travel and Tourism
Scottish Tourism Statistics & Research Insights
Includes reports looking at tourist motivation, emotional benefit, well being etc.

Market Research & Advertising

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Market reports covering the UK, USA, China as well as global reports..
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is the largest and most extensive statistics platform of its kind in the world. With a team of over 120 statisticians, database experts, analysts and editors, Statista provides students, faculty and researchers with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data and statistics from 18,000 sources and on 60,000 different topics. With many thousands of downloadable reports, studies and dossiers, Statista provides huge coverage of data relating to economics, society, politics and environment.
WARC : World Advertising Research Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Premier resource on advertising, marketing, brands and campaigns. Includes case studies, consumer insight, industry trends, news, data and forecasts, media trends, economic and demographic data, profiles of major brand owners and much more.
WARC's Forecasts & Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Key data, forecasts and trends for marketing, advertising and media research. Includes the latest advertising expenditure, global media costs and usage, TV viewing and newspaper trends, and a number of benchmarking tools.
Marketline Industry Profiles This link opens in a new window
Over 30,000 worldwide industry profiles (includes consumer goods, manufacturing, financial, energy and many other markets). Use this link and then enter the country and industry.

Commodities & Macroeconomic Data in Capital IQ

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window

Capital IQ provides a variety of Commodities - precious metals (including gold spot prices), oil & gas etc. and Macroeconomics including GDP, population, currency etc. It can be searched in a variety of ways e.g. Markets > Macroeconomics and then search for a country.

You can then click on the commodity or economic indicator you want to pull up the data and get options to change the time series, export to Excel etc.

Commodities

Capital IQ is a key resource for prices and raw data on commodities e.g. gold prices.

IbisWorld and Statista provide various reports, trends and data on many commodities e.g. search for 'gold' in Statista.

Other sources of free information include:

The World Bank Commodity Markets
A range of historical data and markets outlook, plus special topics e.g. impact of current events (pandemic, war etc.) on prices.
LBMA Precious Metal Prices
London Bullion Market Association price tracking data. Use the drop-down menu to select gold, silver, platinum or palladium

Datasets (Open Source or Free)

Kaggle
Owned by Google, Kaggle is an online community of data scientists. Datasets are publshed by the community for further analysis. These are not official sources of data.
Data World
Open data contributed by users and organizations across the world. You have to sign up to see most datasets but e.g. see sales: https://data.world/datasets/sales.

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian
Ask us for help to use any of the resources or request a meeting with your Librarian.

Europe / International

Eurostat
A range of Economic statsitics relating to Europe, government finance, GDP rate etc
OECD
Books, papers, statistics and data analysis from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development.
more...less...
Also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
World Bank
Access World Bank data via the Databank tab.
ICPSR
Extensive collection of US and international social and behavioural sciences micro data.
more...less...
It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
United Nations
Economic, demographic, environmental statistics for all UN countries.
IMF eLibrary (International Monetary Fund
Information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction and more.
FRED - Federal Reserve Economic Data
US economic time series.