Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

European Union: Home

Search the Library Catalogue

Search Stirgate

Euro Apps


The European Union (formerly the European Economic Community) is an economic and politicial partnership of its member states.  The UK became a member in 1973. The principle institutions of the EU are the EU Parliament, the Council of the EU, the European Commission, the Court of Justice of the EU, the European Central Bank and the Court of Auditors. 

Recommended Resources from the A-Z