Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library Catalogue
The European Union (formerly the European Economic Community) is an economic and politicial partnership of its member states. The UK became a member in 1973. The principle institutions of the EU are the EU Parliament, the Council of the EU, the European Commission, the Court of Justice of the EU, the European Central Bank and the Court of Auditors.
Recommended Resources from the A-Z
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
A business, management and economics database with full text for more than 2,300 journals with more than 1,100 from academic titles. This database provides some full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
EUR-Lex This link opens in a new window
Main website for EU law. Includes the text of the Official Journal (L and C series), which covers legislation, international agreements, preparatory acts and parliamentary questions. It has a section listing legislation force in the previous month with an archive of earlier material. Judgements from the European Court of Justice and the Court of the First Instance can be found on this site, along with Commission documents (COM series and some of the SEC series), consolidated legislative texts and the treaties. EUR-Lex incorporates the old CELEX site.