Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library Catalogue
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Information and research skills
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Environmental History.
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended Resources for finding secondary sources
Use these databases to find journal articles and books. For guidance about searching see our Information and Research Skills guide.
An index for finding journal articles. Covers: earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics,
human geography, physical geography, social geography and oceanography.
Bibliography of British and Irish History Online
An index to journal articles, books and book chapters about British, Irish and Commonwealth history covering the period from 55 BC to the present.
World history (excluding United States and Canada) from 1450 onwards; includes other subject areas presented from a historical perspective.
Natural Science Collection (from Proquest)
Index primarily for finding journal articles. Covers: agriculture, aquatic science, atmospheric science, biological science, geology, earth science, and environmental science. Includes some full-text.
The largest international abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Searches 45.5 million records from 5,000 different publishers covering many different subjects.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Searchable digital archive collection of core scholarly journals, many starting with the first issue (some of which date from the 1800s). Stirling University has full-text access to the Collections: Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, Biological Sciences Archive and Ireland Collection. We also have access to the 19th Century British Pamphlets collection.
PAO : Periodicals Archive Online
Full text backfiles of international academic journals in the humanities and social sciences. Files run from the late 18th century to the late 20th century.
Internet Archaeology Archive
Older issues of the journal Internet Archaeology: 1996 - 2006
Archway provides access to information on archaeology journals holdings in over 20 university, museum and private libraries in one searchable resource. The website has not been fully updated since August 2005 however, although the journal locator section is static, the citation index and the ToC index are updated as new journals are made available online. ARCHway is widely used by the academic community.
OOIR (Observatory of International Research)
Tracks “social science” journals to continually list their latest papers. Covers Anthropology, Area Studies, Communication, Geography, History, Law, Political Science and Sociology.
Recommended Websites for Environmental History
Digimap: Ordnance Survey Data Collection
View and create maps of any location in Great Britain using Ordnance Survey Map data. Download OS map data for use in other software packages, such as Geographical Information Systems (GIS), drawing software and CAD.
Offers a range of historical Ordnance Survey mapping data products from 1843 to 1996. A range of online tools are available to facilitate viewing, interrogation and download of these products.
Old Maps Online
Cross search online historical maps. Includes maps from the National Library of Scotland and the British Library.
Suggest a Book for the Library