RefWorks: Export to RefWorks

These links provide guidance on exporting from University of Stirling databases, Contact the Library if the database you want is not here or the instructions do not help.

If you are asked to Login to RefWorks when you export references always select My Institution’s Credentials (Shibboleth), then University of Stirling.

• Use the Books or Articles tab to search for the book or article you need.
• Click the blue small RefWorks button next to the reference you want.
• Select whether you are using new or legacy version of RefWorks (Legacy is the version on Portal page)
• You will see a RefWorks Import References window and should click the View Last Imported folder in the bottom right corner.
• You might have to allow pop-ups in your web browser.
• RefWorks should open and you might have to log in, see above.
• Move the reference to a folder, see above.
• You may have to edit some details of the reference.  Check book references very carefully e.g. all the author names might not appear and there may be incorrect punctuation at the end of the publisher name and place of publication.

You can view a brief video showing the steps of exporting from the Library Catalogue.

Use these EbscoHost instructions for: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, EconLit, Health Source, Historical Abstracts, IPSA, Philosophers Index, PsycInfo & PsycArticles and SPORTDiscus.

• Open a new tab and search an EBSCO database (e.g. Historical Abstracts, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, PsycINFO etc.) for articles
• Click the folder with a plus symbol  to select the references to export
• Click the Folder tab at the top of the page
• Select some or all of the references to confirm that you wish to export them.
• Click Export
• Click Direct Export to RefWorks.
• Click Save
• Another tab or window will open that redirects you to RefWorks, select Refworks Legacy.
• Select View Last Imported Folder.
• The references should appear in the Last Imported Folder. Select and copy them to other folders as required.
• Check the records and edit them if necessary. 

EBSCO only allows you to add 50 records to the Folder at any one time - so if you have a very large number of records you want to export there is an alternative option. On the results page, select the Share option, then "Email a link to download exported results" - see the detailed guide on Exporting large numbers of records from EBSCO databases.

Use these ProQuest instructions for: ASFA, ASSIA, ATLA, Australian & British Education Index, Biological Sciences, British Humanities Index, Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management, ERIC, IBSS and LLBA.

• Search one of the ProQuest databases (ASFA, British Humanities Index, IPSA etc.) for articles
• Check the box next to the reference(s) you wish to export
• Click Save and select RefWorks
• Modify the export options if you wish.
• Click Continue
• Another tab or window will open that redirects you to RefWorks, select RefWorks Legacy.
• Select View Last Imported Folder.
• The references should appear in the Last Imported Folder. Select and copy them to other folders as required.
• Check the records and edit them if necessary.

• Open a new tab for the University Portal select Succeed and choose your Resource List
• From the Resource List select the Export Citations link at the top left hand side of the screen, or if you are looking at individual references select the Export citation link that appears below the resource title.
• Select Export to RefWorks.
• Another tab or window will open that redirects you to Refworks, select RefWorks Legacy.
• Select View Last Imported Folder.
• The references should appear in the Last Imported Folder. Select and copy them to other folders as required.
• Check the records and edit if necessary

• Open RefWorks
• Open a new tab and search BIOSIS for articles
• Select record by either checking the box next to the reference, or by selecting the plus sign + with a tick next to it at the top of the record
• Select Marked List option on the tool bar at the top of the screen
• Then in the Step 3 section choose RefWorks
• Switch to the RefWorks tab, an Import Log window will appear. Select View last imported folder in the bottom right hand corner
• Move the references to a folder if you wish
• Check the records and if necessary use the Edit option to make any changes.

Unfortunately it is more cumbersome to export from Emerald.  This is something Emerald hope to improve in future.

(Get more instructions at: http://www.emeraldinsight.com/help/user/citation.htm )

• Login (top of screen) and enter the username and password you created when you registered
• Click Your Profile (top right) and then  Marked List Edit Page
• Enter a name for your list in the Add a new list box and click Add (note: the name should be a single word, not a phrase e.g. enter Golfmarketing rather than Golf marketing.
• Now select Advanced search (top right) and complete your search for articles

• Check the boxes next to the articles you wish to export to RefWorks
• Select your list name from the drop down menu in the middle of the screen and click Go
• Select Marked list from the menu on the left
• Select a marked list from the drop down menu in the middle of the screen and click the Select button.  Your list of references should now display in the bottom part of the screen.
• Check the references you wish to export to RefWorks
• Click
• Select direct Export to RefWorks
• RefWorks should open (you might have to log in first – select My Institution’s Credentials (Shibboleth), then University of Stirling)
• Click View Last Imported Folder to see your references
• Move the references to a folder, if you wish
• Check the records and if necessary use the Edit option to make any changes.

• Open RefWorks
• Search GEOBASE for articles
• Check the box next to the reference(s) which you wish to export
• Click on Selected Records at the top of the screen
• Select Download. From the popup window in the Record output choose detailed record. Then select the RefWorks direct import option. Then select download.
• Switch to your RefWorks tab and click View Last Imported Folder to see your references
• Move the references to a folder, if you wish
•  Check the records and if necessary use the Edit option to make any changes.

 Exporting Individual References from Google Scholar 

• Click the Cite icon (looks like a quotation mark)  below any reference in Google Scholar
• Select RefWorks (at the bottom of the Cite box)
• Choose to export to the newest or the legacy version of RefWorks (the Legacy version is the one accessed from Portal page).
• In RefWorks (Classic version) you will see an import references window - click the option at the bottom to View Last Imported Folder.
• The references should appear in the Last Imported Folder. Select and copy them to other folders as required.
• Check the records and edit if necessary

Only references from the Law Journal Library may be exported to RefWorks.

• Open RefWorks
• Open another tab and access HeinOnline.
• Under Subscribed Libraries select Law Journal Library and search for articles.
• Tick the box to left of the records you wish to export to RefWorks.
• Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Save/Email.
• A yellow box will appear. Click  Enter Into Rearch.
• You may be prompted to log-in to your MyHein account but there is no need to do this.
• If you do not have a MyHein  account or do not wish to create one follow the link in the yellow box that says "To view your saved bookmarks to date, click here".
• Check the box next to each article you want to export and then from the drop down list of Options, select Export to RefWorks (Journal Articles) and click Submit.
• Click Export to RefWorks when a new tab opens.
• Click View Last Imported Folder to see your references
• Move the references to a folder, if you wish.
• Check the records and if necessary use the Edit option to make any changes.

• Open RefWorks.

• Open a new browser tab and search in IEEE Xplore.
• On the results page, select any references you want to export by clicking on the check-box next to that record. 
• Or, if you want to export all the references on the page select the Select All on Page link at the top of the list of references. (Note: by default 25 references display on each page, you can change this to 50, 75 or 100 by changing the Results per page selection above the list of references).
• Then click on the Download Citations button at the top of the results’ list.
• A download citations box will appear. Select either Citation only or the Citation & Abstract option.
• Select the RefWorks option.
• Then click on Download Citation.
• Your references will then be automatically imported into your RefWorks account.
• Click on View Last Imported Folder to see the references.
• Move the references to a folder if you wish
• Check the records and if necessary use the Edit option to make any changes. (Note that journal titles exported from IEEE Xplore will often need edited as they are sometimes exported in an odd format. For example: “Oceanic Engineering, IEEE Journal of” is exported, instead of: “IEEE Journal of Oceanic Engineering”.

• Open RefWorks
• Open another tab, go to Lexis Library and search for journal articles, legislation, cases etc. or go to NexisUK and search for a newspaper article.
• Click on the item you wish to export, then click the Export Bibliographic Reference icon which looks like an open book at the top right side of the screen
• A small Export Bibliographic References  window should pop-up and indicate the export Format is RefWorks Direct Export.
• Click the red Export button.
• Switch to your RefWorks tab and click View Last Imported Folder to see your references
• Move the references to a folder, if you wish
• Check the records and if necessary use the Edit option to make any changes.

• Open RefWorks
• Open another tab, go to PubMed on the A-Z list of online resources and search for the topic(s) you are interested in
• There is a 200 item limit for exporting to bibliographic software on PubMed, however, it is possible to export more references using the File option.
• Select the references you are interested in (or to import all references from your results do not select any and all will be exported) and click on Send to at the top of the search results screen
• Under Choose destination select File > under the format heading select Medline > Create file
• You will see a message 'you do want to open or save pubmed_results.txt...'
• Click on Save > Save As and save the file somewhere, e.g. on your desktop
• Switch to your RefWorks tab and click on Import
• From the drop down menu (Import filter / Data Source) select NLM PubMed, under database select PubMed
• Leave the encoding field as ANSI - Latin 1
• Browse to where you saved the .txt file and click open
• Select the folder you wish to put your references in and click Import
• It may take some time for larger files (over 500 references) to be imported into RefWorks
• Very large sets of results (over 1000) may not be able to be imported successfully, try spliting your results into smaller sets
• Check the records and if necessary use the Edit option to make any changes.

• Search for articles
• Check the box next to the references you wish to export
• Click Export Citations
• Choose the Output format you want and select RefWorks Direct Export
• Click Export
• RefWorks should open (you might have to log in first – select My Institution’s Credentials (Shibboleth), then University of Stirling)
• Click View Last Imported Folder to see your references
• Move the references to a folder, if you wish
•  Check the records and if necessary use the Edit option to make any changes.

• Search for articles
• Check the box next to the references you wish to export (see options below for exporting multiple references)
• Click Export and select RefWorks
• Change options as required e.g. use the Record Content menu to add abstract or other fields to your references and click Export
• Select whether you wish to export to the newest version of RefWorks or to the legacy version
• In New RefWorks, select the option you want under Assign to Folder(s) and click Import. Your reference will be added to the Last Imported folder as well as any folder you chose it to be assigned to.
• In Legacy RefWorks, click View Last Imported Folder to see your reference(s), select the reference(s) and drag them to a folder or click the Add to Folder option 
•  Check the records and if necessary use the Edit options to make any changes.

Exporting Multiple References - choose one of the following options:

• Select multiple references from a single page and click Export (then follow instructions above)
• To export all references on a single results page, simply click export and then select the All records on page option
• To export all records in the search click Export, choose 'Records from' and enter the record numbers you want e.g. 1 to 1000. If you require more than 1000, you will need to export them in batches (1001 to 2000 etc,)
• To export specific references from multiple results pages click Add to Marked List once you have selected from each page. Open the Marked List when you are ready to export them

Formatting a Word document for export to RefWorks is detailed and time-consuming. If your list includes mostly journal articles it may be quicker to search and export the references from Google scholar or other Library database.

If you wish to export from Word, use one of the following guides.

Formatting a Word document for export to RefWorks is detailed and time-consuming. If your list includes mostly journal articles it may be quicker to search and export the references from the Library Catalogue or a Database..

If you wish to export from Word, use one of the following guides.

Many databases do not provide direct export to RefWorks but may provide one of the following methods:

• Export as a .txt or .ris file and then 'import' into RefWorks using a filter
  (see Refworks instructions on how to import files or view the short video)
• Search a library catalogue from within RefWorks and import references
• Capture Web page details using RefGrab-it
• Manually add a reference

It is not possible to export or import from the following databases. You can manually enter the references or try searching and exporting them from LibrarySearch or Google Scholar.

• GMID (now called PassPort)
• PassPort (previously called GMID)
• WARC (World Advertising Research Centre)
• Westlaw