Skip to main content

RefWorks: Styles & Bibliography

RefWorks helps you to collect and organise your references and automatically create bibliographies and reference lists. It comes with a Write-N-Cite add-on to help with your in-text citations.

Help with RefWorks

What if my referencing style is not available?

You can edit an existing style to meet your requirements or you can create a new style from scratch using the Output Style Editor.

See the following RefWorks guides:

What if there are errors in my referencing style

You can edit your style with the Output Style Editor.

See the RefWorks Guides above (in the 'What if my referencing style is not available?' section).

 

Which Referencing Style Should I Use?

With RefWorks you can chose from hundreds of referencing styles.  RefWorks calls these Output Styles.  Students can change the style they use for different module requirements just as easily as academics can switch styles to suit journal publishers.

The most commonly used styles are Harvard British Standard, APA, MHRA, Chicago, Journal of Ecology and Oscola but students should refer to the How to Write References Web pages to find out which style they should use.

Creating a Bibliography

These instructions help you to select your references and style to create a simple bibliography. You can then copy and paste this into your word document. You can also view our video guide.

  1. Make sure that the references you want in your bibliography are displayed in the RefWorks screen e.g. from the right hand side folder list, click the relevant folder (1a) to display its references (1b).
  2. Click All in List if you want all of the references OR alternatively tick the boxes to Select specific references.
  3. Click on the Create Bibliography button near the top of the screen.
  4. Select an Output Style from the drop-down list at the top e.g. Harvard.
  5. Under References to Include, make sure that the correct option is chosen e.g. All in List or Selected.
  6. Under File Type select Word for Windows from the drop-down list.
  7. Click on Create Bibliography.
  8. Then copy and paste from the new window into your document (allow pop-ups) or email it or download it.

ALWAYS CHECK THE BIBLIOGRAPHY FOR ERRORS AND CHECK YOUR SCHOOL OR MODULE GUIDELINES

 

 

Bibliography - select style

 If you wish to wish to produce your bibliography dynamically as you create your in-text citations or foot notes you should use the Write-N-Cite add-on for Word

 

 

Finding Your Output Style

If you cannot see the referencing Output Style that you want when creating your Bibliography, click on Manage Output Styles.

Output Style Manager

 

This will open the entire list of styles in RefWorks.  Choose a style and click the arrow to add it to your favourites so that it will be visible whenever you create a bibliography.

 Save output style to favourites