Skip to main content

Library Catalogue Help: Search for Theses

Search the Library Catalogue

Ask a Librarian

Refine your results

You can refine your search from the options on the left of your search results under the Refine by heading.

These will give you different options to limit your search results, like Availability, Format, Location and more.

After you have selected some of those options to refine your search, they will appear at the top left side of the screen under ​Current Refinements​. ​To remove them, simply click on the X​ button to the right of it.

Under the Refine by options there will be the Related Searches heading, where you will find Related topics, a list of topics related to your search, and Additional Suggestions to your search.

Stirling Theses

  • Select Books & Journals tab and do not change the default Keyword search. Search by Keyword(s)/Topic(s). Use the options on the left to limit your results to Theses only, under Format select STIRLING THESES This will display all theses on the topic(s) you searched.
  • If you are looking for a specific Thesis search by title, author or both, and then select STIRLING THESES under Format.

You can also

  • Browse by department: Select Books & Journals tab and do not change the default Keyword search. Search for 'University of Stirling dept of xxx' eg 'University of Stirling dept of history'. Use the options on the left to limit your results, under Format select STIRLING THESES. This will display all theses from that department. Note: if this doesn't work, try 'University of Stirling department of xxx'
  • Do a keyword search for the qualification you are looking for: Select Books & Journals tab and do not change the default Keyword search. Search for ‘BA Hons xxx’ or ‘BSC xxx’ eg ‘ba hons history’, ‘bsc mathematics’. Use the options on the left to limit your results, under Format select STIRLING THESES.

Theses are reference only and they are held in the Basement store. To consult a thesis you will have to request it. To do that you have to view the items record in the classic catalogue.

Open the detailed record of the thesis you want to request.
Click View in classic catalogue on the right side of the record, under Other Sources.
Select Request thesis from Stirling Store
Type your University Username and tick the box next to the title of the Thesis you want to request and select Request Items.

You will be notified with an email to your university email account when the Thesis is retrieved from Basement store (usually the same or next day). You should then be able to pick up the Thesis from the Lending Services desk for consultation within the library.

Taught Postgraduate Dissertations

See a list of all the theses in the library (from both taught courses and research work). Use the options on the left to refine your results. Use the Advanced Search button to search within this list, e.g., for a student's name, thesis subject, or thesis title. 

Research Postgraduate Theses

STORRE: Stirling Online Research Repository contains electronic versions of research theses completed at the university. These can be viewed online instantly. Almost all research theses written after mid-2006 are available through this service, along with some older theses.

The Library should also have a paper copy of every University of Stirling research postgraduate thesis. See a list of all the theses in the library (taught and research). Use the options on the left to refine your results. Use the Advanced Search button to search within this list, e.g., for a student's name, thesis subject, or thesis title. 

Paper theses are kept in a store room. To view one of these theses you to request it. To do that you have to view the items record in the classic catalogue.

Open the detailed record of the thesis you want to request.
Click View in classic catalogue on the right side of the record, under Other Sources.
Select Request thesis from Stirling Store
Type your University Username and tick the box next to the title of the Thesis you want to request and select Request Items.

You will be notified with an email to your university email account when the Thesis is retrieved from Basement store (usually the same or next day). You should then be able to pick up the Thesis from the Lending Services desk for consultation within the library. Occasionally, a thesis may be "embargoed" because it contains confidential or commercially sensitive information. Embargoed theses are not available for consultation.

If you are from another institution and wish to read a Stirling University thesis you should check to see if it is available via the STORRE. If it is not available electronically you could visit Stirling University Library to view the paper copy, or request the thesis through your own library's Inter Library Loan department. (If you plan to visit the library, please check our Opening Hours, and remember to request that the thesis be brought from the store room in advance of your visit.) 

Non-Stirling theses

You could try one of the following services to locate theses by students from other institutions.

  • EThOS - Central hub for PhD theses produced by UK Higher Education. Many theses are available in full-text for immediate download. Registration is free. See also the British Library's guide to finding theses for a certain subject.
  • Index to theses - Index to British and Irish higher degree theses. This is not a full text database (it contains abstracts or brief details only)
  • Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland (from Proquest) - the most comprehensive available listing of theses, with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, since 1716. Includes some links to full-text.
  • Global Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Search from The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) allows you to search for electronic theses from around the world. Includes the UK EThOS service.
  • Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.  Currently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations.
  • American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933 - 1955 (Index only) - This is not a full text database (it contains brief details only). This is the digital version of the print index "Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities" (DDAAU), the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by U.S. universities during that period of time.