Skip to main content

Library Catalogue Help: About the Library Catalogue

Library Catalogue

The Library Catalogue is the library’s discovery service. It provides new ways of searching and exploring the library’s printed and electronic collections, including eBooks and many databases.

Many databases are now fully incorporated into the library catalogue, you can find a list of them in the Databases Included in the Catalogue tab of this guide, under the Search for Journal Articles tab. If you wish to just search the contents of those databases, simply select the Articles tab. To combine a search of the contents of those databases and the library’s collections, use the Books and Articles tab, and if you only want to search the library’s collections, use the Books & Journals tab. 

Like in Amazon and Google the searches are keyword-driven and all results relevancy ranked. You may be overwhelmed at the huge amount of results you find in this platform. Use the Advanced Search options to limit by format type, language, specific library, and more.  You can also use the options of the left of your results to refine your search.

From the Library Catalogue you can log in to your Library Account, export citations to RefWorks, save, and e-mail titles, view checked-out items, renew and request library materials, track recent searches, browse book covers of related titles and more.

​You can access the Library Catalogue from here or through your portal.

Browse searches are not available in the new catalogue, to browse lists of resources by Author, Title, Classmark or ISBN/ISSN you can use the Classic Catalgue available here.

You also have the option to view individual items in the classic catalogue. When you are in the detailed record of any item listed in the library’s catalogue, you’ll find the option View in classic catalogue in the right hand side under Other Sources.

Some items are held in store and cannot be retrieved immediately. If you want to borrow an item from store you will have to Request it from Stirling Store. To do that you will have to view the item in the classic catalogue.

  • Open the detailed record of the item you want to request.
  • Click View in classic catalogue, on the right side of the record under Other Sources.
  • Select Request from Stirling Store.
  • Type your University Username, tick the box next to the title of the item you want to request and select Request Items.

Your request will be sent to the Library Lending desk, they will retrieve the item from store and send you an email when the item is ready for you (usually the same or next day). Some reference items such as theses cannot be borrowed but can be kept at the desk for as long as you need to use them for consultation in the library.

You can find more detailed information on borrowing here.