Skip to main content

Faculties Databases Guide: Web of Science - All Databases

About

What is it?

Web of Science (previously known as Web of Knowledge) is a gateway service to several databases including the Web of Science Core Collection (for access to the Citation Indexes).

The full list of databases available via the Web of Science service is:

 

Web of Science Core Collection includes the Citation Indexes:
Science Citation Index 1900 onwards
Social Sciences Citation Index 1900 onwards
Arts and Humanities Citation Index 1975 onwards
Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science 1990 onwards
Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities 1990 onwards
Book Citation Index– Science 2005 onwards
Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities 2005 onwards

 

Web of Science Core Collection also includes: 
Current Chemical Reactions 1986 onwards
(Includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)
Index Chemicus  1993 onwards

 

The other databases available via Web of Science are:
BIOSIS Citation Index 1926 onwards
Current Contents Connect 1998 onwards
Data Citation Index 1900 onwards
Derwent Innovations Index 1963 onwards
KCI Korean Journal Database 1980 onwards
MEDLINE 1950 onwards
SciELO Citation Index 1997 onwards
Zoological Record 1864 onwards

 

 

What is it for?

 

 

The Web of Sciences - all databases search is useful for searching across the whole range of databases available from the Web of Science gateway. It covers many different subject areas and will find mainly journal article references.

 

 

 

How to access it

 

 

Login to the Portal and then choose Web of Science - all databases from the A-Z List of Online Resources.

The All Databases tab will be automatically selected.

 
How to search

 

See Successful Search Techniques.

Automatically everything is selected for searching. 

Note you can narrow your search to a specific database by selecting the Tabs along the top of the screen.

Select the date range you want to search by using the Timespan options on the right hand side (default isLatest 5 Years ), the date range selection does not apply to the selected external collections. Enter your search and click on Search.

AND searches (to narrow the search), e.g., car AND pollution

OR searches (to broaden the search), e.g., car OR automobile OR vehicle

PHRASE searches: will find 2 or more words in that order, eg health service

Truncation: use * for multiple letters, e.g., estuarwill find estuary, estuarine, estuaries. Use ? for one or zero characters, e.g., colo?r will find color or colour.

CITED REFERENCE SEARCHCitation searching allows you to find articles that have quoted a given article in their reference list. This type of search should be carried out using all the years of the database.  

Choose the down arrow next to Basic Search above the Search box and select Cited Reference Search.  

First enter the details of your article of interest: enter the author’s name in the Cited Author box in the form: beveridge m*  the author’s last name is entered first and you can add the asterisk truncation symbol * if you do not know all of the author’s initials.  Then enter the year that the article was published in the Cited year(s) box: e.g. 1985. It is probably best to leave the Cited Work box empty as authors are sometimes inconsistent in their citations.  Click on the Search button.

On the next screen you will see a list of potential matching references. Select the check box(es) next to your reference of interest. (Note you may need to tick more than one checkbox due to inconsistencies in the way your article of interest has been cited). Then click on the Finish Search button.  The next screen will display a list of all the articles (from across all Web of Science citation databases) that cite your selected reference.

 

See also the video below showing a Cited Reference search.

 
Full text?

 

Click on the Full-Text button that displays under each record - then choose the Check WebBridge button Check WebBridge button, which provides links to the full text of the journal if available, or to the library catalogue, to check if we have the item in paper format.

 
 
Refworks ?

 

Records can be downloaded into RefWorks (a software product for managing references and formatting bibliographies).

 

Other useful resources

 

See also StirGate

 
Further help

 

For help, click on the Help option in the top right handside of the Web of Science screens.

 
 
Marking records for printing and downloading

 

Results are displayed in summary format, up to ten items are displayed per page. To go to another page of results, click the navigation arrows or type a page number.

To see the full record of an item in the results listing, click on the record title.

Web of Science results: You can mark items from the results listing screen by selecting the checkbox next to record(s) and then selecting Add to Marked List at the top right hand side of the records listing. Then select Marked List on the far right hand side of the grey menu bar above the results.  From the Marked List screen you can choose to print, email or output your records to bibliographic management software (such as RefWorks): choose the Print or Email icons or choose your bibliographic software in the Send to drop down menu.

Quick Tour of Web of Science video

)

Web of Science Core Collection Cited Reference search: Redpath paper from 2010 in Biological Conservation

)

Link to Web of Science - All Databases