Skip to main content

Faculty of Arts & Humanities Database Guides: Historical Abstracts

About

What is it?

Index to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations in world history (excluding North America) from 1450 onwards. Covers publications from 1955 onwards.

What is it for?

Use it to find publications on historical topics.

How to access it

Choose Historical Abstracts from the A-Z List of Online Resources.

How to search

See Successful Search Techniques.

See also More Searching below.

Full text?

Click on the Check WebBridge Check WebBridge button button. It provides links to the full text of the journal if available, or to the library catalogue to check if we have the item in paper format.

Refworks ?
Records can be downloaded into RefWorks (a software product for managing references and formatting bibliographies).

Other useful resources

See the History Research Guide

Further help
Click on "Ask a Librarian" at the top right of the search screen. Your enquiry will be sent to a Librarian at the University of Stirling.

More Searching

Phrase searching: To search for Berlin Wall, enter "berlin wall".

Limiting to a historical period: To limit a search to a particular time period enter the years into the Historical Period option below the main search screen. As Historical Abstracts only contains materials from 1450 AD the BC and AD selections can be ignored.

Truncation: use * at end of word stem to stand for truncation, e.g. communis* for communism, communist, communists.

Wildcard: use ? in middle of word, e.g. wom?n to search for woman and women.

Limiting to full text: it is not recommended to use the limit to full text option on Historical Abstracts. This option only looks for full text resources available from EBSCO, not the University of Stirling. Use the check WebBridge icon to check the library catalogue to see if the journal you require is available from the library.

Saving Searches: To save searches and set up alerts from Historical Abstracts, use the My EBSCO Host option at the top of the main search screen.