Skip to main content

Faculty of Natural Sciences Database Guides: Environmental Science Collection

About

Full Name

 

What is it?

Proquest Environmental Science Collection

 

The Environmental Science Collection provides extensive coverage of the literature in environmental science, ecology, sustainability, pollution, water management, and other areas within this multidisciplinary field. 

 

Date coverage is primarily from: 1967 to present.

 

Primarily an index for journal articles from more than 6,000 serials. Also covers: conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications (focuses on United States legislation). There are also over 1,000 full-text publications and over 1,700 full-text Environmental Impact Statements (U.S.).

 

Subjects covered:
Agricultural biotechnology; Air quality; Aquatic pollution; Bacteriology; Ecology; Energy resources; Environmental biotechnology; Environmental engineering; Environmental impact statements (U.S.); Hazardous waste; Industrial hygiene; Microbiology related to industrial & environmental issues; Pollution: land, air, water, noise, solid waste, radioactive; Risk assessment; Safety science; Toxicology & toxic emissions; Water pollution; Waste management; Water resource issues.

 

The Environmental Science Collection is part of the Proquest Natural Science Collection.

 

Environmental Science Collection includes the databases that make up ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) plus additional databases marked below with an asterisk:

 

Aqualine‎ (1960 - current)*
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality‎ (1990 - current)
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) ‎ (1982 - current)
Biotechnology Research Abstracts‎
COS Conference Papers Index‎ (1982 - current)
Ecology Abstracts‎ (1982 - current)
Environment Abstracts (1975 – current)
Environmental Engineering Abstracts (1990 - current)
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests‎ (1985 - current)
Environmental Impact Statements: Full Text‎*
Health & Safety Science Abstracts‎ (1981 - current)
Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)‎ (1982 - current)
Pollution Abstracts (1981 - current)
ProQuest Deep Indexing: Environmental Sciences
ProQuest Environmental Science Journals‎*
Risk Abstracts (1990 - current)
Sustainability Science Abstracts (1995 - current)
Toxicology Abstracts‎ (1981 - current)
TOXLINE‎ (1999 - current)
Water Resources Abstracts (1967 - current)

 

What is it for?

Use to help you find journal articles on the topics in the environmental sciences.

 

How to access it

Login to the Portal and then choose Environmental Science Collection from the A-Z List of Online Resources.

How to search

See Successful Search Techniques.

There is an Easy Search Option but we recommend selecting the Advanced Search option, or using the Thesaurus Search (see below).

Advanced Search: From the Advanced Search screen select the type of search you wish to conduct from the drop-down box
e.g. Choose All Fields, to search all fields in the citation and abstract.

Truncation: use * at the end of a word, e.g., feed* will find feeds , feeding, feedstuff, etc.

Spelling variants: The search is automatically set up to recognise spelling variants of American and British versions of words, for example, a search for behaviour will automatically find both behaviour and behavior

Field searching: use to to be precise and increase relevance of results

- e.g., type in nitrogen fixation and select Document Title - TI from the drop-down box to find items where nitrogen fixation appears in the title of articles

Database limit - Make use of the Database option in the Narrow results filters that appear on the left hand side of results pages. The databases each specialise in a particular area of environmental science and so this may increase the relevance of the results you find.

Narrow results options - be aware that the Narrow results filters that appear on the left hand side of results pages are pulled from the range of different databases that comprise the Environmental Science Collection.  Each database uses its own set of filters, so by choosing a filter you may be excluding relevant results from a database that doesn't use that particular filter term.

Combining searches: searches can be combined by selecting the recent searches icon (looks like a clock) at the top righthand side of the Advanced Search screen. Then type the search set numbers to combine searches, for example: 2 and 3

 

Full text?

Click on the Check WebBridge button Check WebBridge button, which provides links to the full text of the journal if available, or to the library catalogue, to check if we have the item in paper format.

 

Other useful resources

See GEOBASE guide

Further help
Click on Help in top right hand corner of Environmental Science Collection

Link to Environmental Science Collection