Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Airthrey Estate

Collection information

Collection: Airthrey Estate Papers

Collection Ref.: GB 0559 AE

Administrative History:

The University of Stirling occupies the site of the former Airthery Estate. The university campus began to take on the appearance it enjoys today in the late eighteenth century. In 1786 the Airthrey Estate was inherited by Robert Haldane who built Airthrey Castle to a design by the famous architect Robert Adam. He also transformed the estate, adding many trees and creating the loch which is at the centre of today’s campus. Throughout the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries the estate was further developed by the Abercrombie and Graham families. Extensions were added to the castle, further trees were planted and a bridge over the loch was built. In 1939 the estate was purchased by the Local Health Authority and Airthrey Castle became a maternity hospital. The estate was granted to the new university in August 1965 and construction work began. Airthrey Castle continued to function as a maternity hospital until 1969 when it was also transferred to the University of Stirling.

Contents:

Title deeds and associated papers concerning lands of Airthrey, 1792-1945; Estate papers (including leases of farms and properties), 1796-1947, including inventories of Airthrey Castle, 1922-1941; Papers concerning Airthrey Paper Mills, 1910-1940, and water and electricity supply to estate.

Extent: 4 boxes

Catalogue information

The Airthrey Estate Papers have been fully catalogued and a copy of the list of contents is available below. A copy of the list is also available for consultation in the archives reading room.

Additional Collection Information

Note: The collection does not include any material relating to Airthrey Maternity Hospital.

Accruals: No further additions to collection expected.

Access: Please contact us in advance of a visit or use the request form.

Publications: The following publications contain useful information about Airthrey Estate and the local area.

Airthrey and Bridge of Allan: a guided walk, Stirling: Forth Naturalist and Historian, 1986

Campbell, Alex R. Airthrey Castle Curling Club: a history, 1878-1998, [Stirling: The Club, 1998]

Fergusson, R. Menzies. Logie: a parish history, Paisley: Alexander Gardner, 1905

Mackay, K. J. H., and Angus, David. Airthrey roads: Captain Haldane's magic roundabout (offprint from Forth naturalist and historian 9 (1984/85): 81-111) Concentrates on the years 1759-1827, but gives a summary of the earlier period. Also compares all the early maps of the estate.

MacLean, Ella. Bridge of Allan: the rise of a village, Bridge of Allan, 1971

MacLean, Ella. The Airthrey estate: a visitors' guide, Stirling: Airthrey Gardens Group, 1974

Roger, Charles. A week at Bridge of Allan..., 2nd ed., Edinburgh: Adam and Charles Black, 1853 

Collection image

 Photograph of Airthrey Estate taken in 1960s.

Using the collection

Archives Reading Room

Opening Hours:

9.30 am - 1.00 pm / 2.00 pm - 4.45 pm

Monday - Friday

Contact us:

Tel. 01786 466619

Email: archives@stir.ac.uk

Please contact us in advance of your visit and use the request form to order material you wish to consult.