Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Eneas Mackay

Collection information

Collection: Eneas Mackay

Classmark: Reserve O 00.9514 1895 onwards

Biographical/administrative history:

Eneas Mackay was a publisher and bookseller in Stirling from the late 19th century until the mid 20th century. Originally a stationer and newsagent, he had premises on Murray Place in Stirling.  He published many works of local and Scottish interest, including a number of Gaelic language publications.  In 1925 Jamieson and Munro acquired Mackay’s business, but kept that branch of the business trading under the old name. When John Munro retired from the Stirling Observer Press in 1941, he was succeeded by Eneas Mackay. However, Mackay died suddenly two years later.

Contents: books published by Eneas Mackay

Extent: approx 80 books

Catalogue information

All of the books are listed in the online catalogue.  Do a keyword search for O 00.9514 1895. View that record, then click on the Call Number (O 00.9514 1895). You can then browse a graphical list of books published by Eneas Mackay. 

Please order the books by emailing archives@stir.ac.uk

Additional collection information

Custodial history: The collection has been built up over time. Some books have been donated and some purchased.

Accruals:  The collection may be extended if suitable material becomes available.

 

Access conditions: Please contact us in advance of a visit by emailing archives@stir.ac.uk

Language: English, Gaelic

 

 

Using the collection

Archives Reading Room

Opening Hours:

9.30 am - 1.00 pm / 2.00 pm - 4.45 pm

Monday - Friday

Contact us:

Tel. 01786 466619

Email: archives@stir.ac.uk

Please contact us in advance of your visit. Material can be ordered in advance by emailing us at archives@stir.ac.uk