Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Norman MacCaig

Collection information

Collection: Norman MacCaig

Classmarks:

Manuscripts: MS 8, 9, 21, 37, 78, 80, 81

Books: Reserve MAS 1097-1098

MacCaig's own library: Reserve MAS 1098.Z7

Biographical/administrative history: Norman MacCaig (1910-1996), was a Scottish poet. His first collection of poems, Far Cry, was published in 1943. He continued to publish poetry throughout his life. He was Reader in Poetry at the University of Stirling from 1970 - 1978.

Contents: books (including many from MacCaig's personal collection of poetry), manuscripts (including a collection of 525 holograph poems sent by MacCaig to Miss Morven Cameron).

Extent: approx 70 books, 6 boxes of manuscripts

Catalogue information

The books are listed in the online catalogue. Here is a list of the books in the collection.

 A handlist of the manuscript collection (MS 81) is available on request.

Please contact us in advance of a visit or use the request form.

Additional collection information

Custodial history: The collection was donated to the Library by the poet's family after his death in 1996.

Accruals: none expected

Access conditions: Please contact us in advance of a visit or use the request form.

Language: English, Scots

 

Using the collection

Archives Reading Room

Opening Hours:

9.30 am - 1.00 pm / 2.00 pm - 4.45 pm

Monday - Friday

Contact us:

Tel. 01786 466619

Email: archives@stir.ac.uk

Please contact us in advance of your visit and use the request form to order material you wish to consult.