LibGuides: Non Medical Prescribing: Home

Evaluation tips

It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.

(edit text

)

Social media

Welcome

Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Non Medical Prescribing

If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know

Recommended Resources from the A-Z

CINAHL complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to articles on nursing and allied fields, health education, emergency services, occupational therapy, etc.
Covers material from 1982.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The major resource for information on evidenced based medicine. The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
Health Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to 550 journals. Also abstracts and indexing for 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
Internurse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Internurse provides full text articles from 18 major nursing journals.
Knowledge Network This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Knowledge Network is the new name for NHS Scotland e-Library. It provides access to a wide range of databases, electronic journals, clinical guidelines and websites in all aspects of healthcare. Some materials are freely available to the public. Students and staff in the Department of Nursing and Midwifery and those working in partnership with the NHS can apply for an Athens username and password to access the full range of resources on this site.
Medline - via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medline covers medicine and nursing. It is created by the National Library of Medicine and uses MESH subject headings to locate resources.

Recommended Websites

British National Formulary (BNF) This link opens in a new window
Online access to the British National Formulary.

The Association for Nurse Prescribing
SHOW-Scotland's Health on the Web
Online health information from NHS Scotland.
European Medicines Agency
A decentralised agency of the European Union, based in London, responsible for the scientific evaluation of medicines developed by pharmaceutical companies for use in the EU.
Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency
The body responsible for regulating medicines and medical devices in the UK.
Medicines and Prescribing Support from NICE

Your Librarian - Stirling Campus

Clare Crowley

Email Me