LibGuides: Law: European Law

Search the Library Catalogue

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian
Ask us for help to use any of the resources or request a meeting with your Librarian.

Related Resources

Kluwer Arbitration This link opens in a new window
Resources for international commercial arbitration.including conventions, legislation, rules, bilateral investment treaties, awards and case law, journal articles and commentary. Includes the Yearbook: Commercial Arbitration.
If KA does open in Internet Explorer, please try an alternative Internet Browser.

European Commission: Competition
Includes legislation, case law, consultations, tenders, publications and other material relating to competition in the EU.

Recommended Websites

European Union Publications and Documents
Links to EU documents, from legal texts to historical records, the latest EU-wide surveys and opinion polls and the libraries and documentation centres that host them. Find explanations of EU terminology, glossaries and advice on writing about the EU. You can also order publications from the EU bookshop.
Your MEPs: by country / region
Interactive map giving information about MEPs for all regions of Europe.
EU Information in the UK
Brings together contact details for organisations and individuals in the UK and its regions that provide EU information and advice for the general public, the academic community and business. Includes locations of Europe Direct (European Documentation) Centres.
European Parliament
Information about the European Parliament with links to MEPs, Committees, Parliamentary timetables and some documentation.
European Ombudsman

NEWS

EU Legal Acts - New Numbering System

From 1st January documents in the L (Legislation) series of the Official Journal of the European Union (OJ) will be allocated a unique sequential number. The new method is designed to simply previous divergent practices and make it easier to identify and refer to legal acts. Further information is available at: EUR-Lex.

European Cases

EUR-Lex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Main website for EU law. Includes the text of the Official Journal (L and C series), which covers legislation, international agreements, preparatory acts and parliamentary questions. It has a section listing legislation force in the previous month with an archive of earlier material. Judgements from the European Court of Justice and the Court of the First Instance can be found on this site, along with Commission documents (COM series and some of the SEC series), consolidated legislative texts and the treaties. EUR-Lex incorporates the old CELEX site.

Court of Justice
The Court of Justice upholds the rule of European Law. This site gives the judgements from both of the European Union's courts, the Court of Justice and the Court of the First Instance.

BAILII This link opens in a new window
Use BAILII if Westlaw is unavailable.
Full text British and Irish cases, legislation (non-consolidated), Scottish Law Commission reports, and other legal material. Links to international material are included.
European Court of Human Rights (HUDOC) This link opens in a new window
The HUDOC database gives online access to the judgments, decisions, resolutions and reports of the European Court of Human Rights, the European Commission of Human Rights and the Committee of Ministers.

Click on the blue HUDOC icon to access the database. By default, HUDOC will search judgments - you can search other types of documents, such as admissibility decisions, by choosing a different option in the menu at the left of the HUDOC screen.
Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains index of legal terms, legal cases, full text journal articles, ebooks, and the Butterworths Tax Direct Service. Includes some international and European material (sources tab). Limited coverage of pre-1999 Scottish legislation, full coverage post devolution.

For fuller coverage of Scots legislation use Westlaw.

European Union Treaties & Legislation

Europa: European Union Legislation and Treaties
Treaties are the primary legislation of the European Union. This EU website has the text of the European Union treaties, along with accession treaties, consolidated and original text versions of the founding treaties, and other EU treaties and protocols.

EUR-Lex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Main website for EU law. Includes the text of the Official Journal (L and C series), which covers legislation, international agreements, preparatory acts and parliamentary questions. It has a section listing legislation force in the previous month with an archive of earlier material. Judgements from the European Court of Justice and the Court of the First Instance can be found on this site, along with Commission documents (COM series and some of the SEC series), consolidated legislative texts and the treaties. EUR-Lex incorporates the old CELEX site.

PreLex
PreLEX allows you to follow the decision-making process of the EU. It monitors the progress of all official documents sent by the Commission to the other EU institutions such as the Council of the European Union or the European Parliament.

Use PreLEX and OEIL together, as one resource sometimes contains more up-to-date information than the other.
OEIL - Legislative Observatory European Parliament
OEIL, also know as The Legislative Observatory, monitors the interinstitutional decision-making process in the European Union.

Use PreLEX and OEIL together, as one resource sometimes contains more up-to-date information than the other.
N-Lex
N-Lex links to the national laws of the Member States of the European Union, and allows searching of legislation from different countries via the same interface.
Official Journal
There are four types of secondary legislation in the EU - regulations, directives, decisions and recommendations. All of these can be found in the L series ("legislation") of the Official Journal of the European Union.

The Official Journal C series ("information and notices") contains general information including the Euro rates of exchange.

The Official Journal is available online in full text from 1998 onwards.

Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains index of legal terms, legal cases, full text journal articles, ebooks, and the Butterworths Tax Direct Service. Includes some international and European material (sources tab). Limited coverage of pre-1999 Scottish legislation, full coverage post devolution.

For fuller coverage of Scots legislation use Westlaw.