Skip to main content

Database Guides: Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science

Information about using the various databases in the A-Z Online Resources,

About

What is it?

(Previously known as ISI Proceedings)

An index of scientific and technical proceedings. Indexes individual papers from conferences. Covers significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia workshops and conventions in a wide range of disciplines in science and technology. 1990 to date. Updated daily. 85% of items have an abstract.

What is it for?

Useful for finding scientific and technical conference papers

How to access it

Login to the Portal, then select A-Z List of Online Resources and choose Web of Knowledge. Select the Web of Science tab.

Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science is one of the databases searched via Web of Science. You can choose to search the Conference Proceedings along with the other Web of Science databases, or individually. Make your selections at the foot of the Web of Science search screen.

How to search

See Successful Search Techniques.


Click on General Search. Select the date range you want to search using the pull-down box. Default is All years.

AND searches (to narrow the search): car AND pollution

OR searches (to broaden the search): car OR automobile OR vehicle PHRASE searches: will find 2 or more words in that order, eg health service

Truncation: use * for multiple letters, e.g., estuar* will find estuary, estuarine, estuaries. Use ? for one or zero characters, e.g., colo?r will find color or colour.

To combine searches click on the Combine Searches button and then combine sets together by marking the appropriate set number and combining with the appropriate Boolean operator.  Now click on Combine

Click on the Change settings button on the right hand side of the General Search screen to change the date range you want to search.

Full text?

Click on the Check WebBridge button Check WebBridge button, which provides links to the full text of the journal if available, or to the library catalogue, to check if we have the item in paper format.

Refworks ?
Records can be downloaded into RefWorks (a software product for managing references and formatting bibliographies).

Other useful resources

Conference Papers Index

Further help

Click on Help button button or view the ISI Web of Knowledge tutorial.

Marking records for printing and downloading

Results are displayed in summary format, in reverse date order. 
Click on the highlighted article title to see the full record display which includes the abstract. The full record display gives the number of results. Use the Next and previous buttons to view more results.

Marking: Click the checkbox at the left handside of each record to mark it. If you are marking records from more than one page of results, you will then need to click on the Add to Marked List button on the right handside toolbar. You will see the number of marked records appear as a hyperlink.
Output: If you have marked records on only one page of results use the right handside toolbar to choose how much of the record to output, and then you can choose whether to email, save or print these records. If you marked records on more than one page of results click on the hyperlink on the right handside toolbar e.g. [3 records marked]. Then you can select any additional fields you wish to include, and choose whether to email, save or print.

Use the Export output option for downloading into Refworks (see above)

Link to Conference Proceedings Citation Index