Skip to main content

Database Guides: Conference Papers Index

Information about using the various databases in the A-Z Online Resources,

About

What is it?

Conference Papers indexes papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.  Covers literature from 1982, updated bimonthly.

What is it for?

Use to find conference papers in life sciences, environmental sciences and aquatic sciences.

How to access it

Login to the Portal and then choose Conference Papers Index from the A-Z List of Online Resources.

How to search

See Successful Search Techniques.

There is an Easy Search Option but we recommend selecting the Advanced Search option.

Advanced Search: From the Advanced Search screen select the type of search you wish to conduct from the drop-down box.

Truncation: use * at the end of a word, e.g., feed* will find feeds , feeding, feedstuff, etc.
Spelling variants: the search is automatically set up to recognise spelling variants of American and British versions of words, for example, a search for behaviour will automatically find both behaviour and behavior
Combining searches:  searches can be combined from the Advanced Search screen.  Alternatively select the Search History option and type in previous searches set numbers e.g., (#3 and #2)

Full text?

Click on the Check WebBridge button Check WebBridge button, which provides links to the full text of the journal if available, or to the library catalogue, to check if we have the item in paper format.

Other useful resources

See Conference Proceedings Citation Index guide

Link to Conference Papers Index