Skip to main content

Database Guides: Atmospheric Science Collection (from Proquest)

Information about using the various databases in the A-Z Online Resources,

About

Full name

Proquest Atmospheric Science Collection

What is it?

Index primarily for finding journal articles.  Covers: meteorology, climatology and atmospheric pollution. Includes the renowned database: Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) produced by the American Meteorological Society. Includes some full-text.

 

Date coverage from 1974 onwards. Updated monthly.

 

Types of publications covered: journals, conference proceedings, books, technical reports and monographs.

 

The Atmospheric Science Collection is part of the Proquest Natural Science Collection.

 

 

What is it for?

Use primarily to find journal articles in the following subject areas:

 

meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, atmospheric pollution, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences

 

How to access it

Login to the Portal and then choose Atmospheric Science Collection (from Proquest) from the A-Z List of Online Resources.

 

 

How to search

See Successful Search Techniques.

There is an Easy Search Option but we recommend selecting the Advanced Search.

From the Advanced Search screen select the type of search you wish to conduct from the drop-down box
e.g. Choose Anywhere, to search all fields including Document titles, summaries, keywords added by the database and also full-text of articles (where available). If you are finding too many irrelevant articles - it may be better to select the Anywhere except full text option.

Truncation: use * at the end of a word, e.g., feed* will find feeds , feeding, feedstuff, etc.

Spelling variants: The search is automatically set up to recognise spelling variants of American and British versions of words, for example, a search for behaviour will automatically find behaviour or behavior 

Use Field searching to be precise:

e.g., type in aquaculture and select Document Title - TI from the drop-down box to find items where aquaculture appears in the title of the article.

 

Thesaurus Search: Use the Thesaurus (above the Advanced Search boxes on the right) to improve the relevance of your search results: it will find articles where your search term is one of the main topics in the article.

Narrow results by option: On each results' page there is an option to narrow your results by various filters, for example, by Subject (thesaurus terms), Document Type, etc.

Combining searches: searches can be combined by selecting the Folder icon in the top right hand corner, then select the Recent searches. Then type the set numbers to combine searches, for example: 2 and 3

 

  

Full text?

Click on the Check WebBridge button Check WebBridge button, which provides links to the full text of the journal if available, or to the library catalogue, to check if we have the item in paper format.

 

 

Refworks?

Records can be downloaded into RefWorks (a software product for managing references and formatting bibliographies).

 

 

Further help
Click on the ? mark icon (top righthand side).

Link to Atmospheric Science Collection (from Proquest)