Skip to main content

Database Guides: CINAHL

Information about using the various databases in the A-Z Online Resources,

About

What is it?

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) contains references from over 2700 journals in the fields of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, alternative/complementary medicine and consumer health. Coverage is from 1982 onwards.

What is it for?

Use CINAHL to find journal articles on healthcare topics.

How to access it

Login to the Portal and then choose CINAHL from the A-Z List of Online Resources.

How to search

See Successful Search Techniques.

Full text?

A lot of full text is available from CINAHL. However, always click on the Check WebBridge icon to check for the full text in one of Stirling University's libraries if the article you require is not immediately available.

Refworks ?
Records can be downloaded into RefWorks (a software product for managing references and formatting bibliographies). A guide to exporting large numbers of records from CINAHL (or Medline via EBSCO) to bibliographic management software is available on our RefWorks help pages.

Other useful resources

The research guide for nursing or research guide for midwifery webpages suggest some additional databases that cover similar topics to CINAHL

Further help

Click on "help" in the top right corner of the search screen to get detailed information about using CINAHL. To get help with the database, click on "Ask a Librarian" at the top of the search screen, your enquiry will be answered by a Stirling University Librarian.

Tutorial on using an EBSCO database