Skip to main content

Database Guides: Earth Science Collection

Information about using the various databases in the A-Z Online Resources,

About

Full Name

 

What is it?

Proquest Earth Science Collection

 

The Earth Science Collection provides extensive coverage of the literature in: geology, earth science and oceanography. It includes the GeoRef database produced by American Geosciences Institute which covers geoscience literature from around the world and is the most comprehensive database available in the geosciences.

 

Date coverage is from: 1693 to present

 

Primarily an index to find journal articles. 
Covers: Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Books, Conference Papers and Proceedings, Government & Official Publications, Magazines, Newspapers, Other Sources, Reports, Tables, Wire Feeds, Working Papers, Video and Audio. The Collection also includes more than 600 full-text publications.

Subjects covered: 

 

Areal geology; Economic geology; Engineering geology; Environmental geology; Extraterrestrial geology; Geochemistry; Geochronology; Geophysics; Hydrogeology and hydrology; Marine geology and oceanography; Mathematical geology; Mineralogy and Crystallography; Paleontology; Petrology; Seismology; Stratigraphy; Structural geology; Surficial geology

 

The Earth Science Collection is part of the Proquest Natural Science Collection.

The Collection is comprised of the following databases:

GeoRef‎ (1693 – current) 

GeoRef In Process‎

Oceanic Abstracts‎ (1981 - current) 

ProQuest Earth Science Journals‎ 

  

What is it for?

Use to help you find journal articles on the topics in the earth sciences.

 

How to access it

Login to the Portal and then choose Earth Science Collection from the A-Z List of Online Resources.

How to search

See Successful Search Techniques.

There is an Easy Search Option but we recommend selecting the Advanced Search option, or using the Thesaurus Search (see below).

Advanced Search: From the Advanced Search screen select the type of search you wish to conduct from the drop-down box
e.g. Choose All Fields, to search all fields in the citation and abstract.

Truncation: use * at the end of a word, e.g., feed* will find feeds , feeding, feedstuff, etc.

Spelling variants: The search is automatically set up to recognise spelling variants of American and British versions of words, for example, a search for behaviour will automatically find both behaviour and behavior

Field searching: use to to be precise and increase relevance of results

- e.g., type in nitrogen fixation and select Document Title - TI from the drop-down box to find items where nitrogen fixation appears in the title of articles.

Thesaurus Search: Because the Earth Science Collection is created from a number of databases if you use the Thesaurus option to search you will exclude any records from databases that don't use that thesaurus.  It is probably best only to use the Thesaurus option when you are searching at a more specific level on an individual database, for example, in GeoRef.

Narrow results options - be aware that the Narrow results filters that appear on the left hand side of results pages are pulled from the range of different databases that comprise the Earth Science Collection.  Each database uses its own set of filters, so by choosing a filter you may be excluding relevant results from a database that doesn't use that particular filter term.

Combining searches: searches can be combined by selecting the recent searches icon (looks like a clock) at the top righthand side of the Advanced Search screen. Then type the search set numbers to combine searches, for example: 2 and 3

 

Full text?

Click on the Check WebBridge button Check WebBridge button, which provides links to the full text of the journal if available, or to the library catalogue, to check if we have the item in paper format.

 

Other useful resources

See GEOBASE guide

Further help
Click on Help in top right hand corner of Environmental Science Collection

Link to Earth Science Collection