Skip to main content

Database Guides: ATLA

Information about using the various databases in the A-Z Online Resources,

About

What is it?

Index to journal articles, essays and book reviews in Biblical studies, world religions, church history and religious perspectives on social issues. Covers publications from 1949 onwards.

What is it for?

Use it to find publications on religious topics.

How to access it

Login to the Portal and then choose ATLA Religion Database from the A-Z List of Online Resources.

How to search

See Successful Search Techniques.

See also More Searching below.

Full text?

Click on the Check WebBridge Check WebBridge button button. It provides links to the full text of the journal if available, or to the library catalogue to check if we have the item in paper format.

Other useful resources

See the Religious Studies Research Guide

Further help
See the Help link in the top right hand corner.

More Searching

Truncation

To truncate your search terms use * E.g. ethic* will find ethic, ethics, ethical etc.

Limiting searches

Use the Limit your Results options below the main search box. Searches may be limited by date, language or type of publication e.g. article or essay.

Limiting to full text

It is not recommended to use the limit to full text option on ATLA. This option only looks for full text resources available from EBSCO, not the University of Stirling. Use the check WebBridge icon to check the library catalogue to see if the journal you require is available from the Library.