Skip to main content

Database Guides: Nineteenth Century Pamphlets

Information about using the various databases in the A-Z Online Resources,

About

What is it?

Digitised versions of a range of nineteenth century pamphlets from seven UK research libraries. More information about the collections is given below.

How to access it

Login to the Portal and then choose Nineteenth Century Pamphlets from the A-Z List of Online Resources.

How to search

See Successful Search Techniques.

Either search a specific collection e.g. the Cowen Tracts and search this collection or select JSTOR from the A-Z list of online resources and limit your results to pamphlets.

Full text?

Yes

Other useful resources

See the History Research Guide or Politics Research Guide.

What does the collection contain?

The collection includes: 

Bristol Selected Pamphlets - covers topics including 19th century commerce, economics, finance, politics, religion and society. 

Cowen Tracts - the collection of Joseph Cowen (1829-1900) a social reformer and MP for Newcastle on Tyne. 

Earl Grey Collection - from the 2nd, 3rd and 4th Earls Grey, topics covered include parliamentary reform, colonial affairs and Catholic emancipation. 

Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection (1545 - 1900). 

Hume Collection - personal collection of Joseph Hume (1777-1855), a radical Member of Parliament. Covers the major political, economic and social developments of the time. 

Knowsley Pamphlet Collection - reflects the political careers of the Earls of Derby, 1830-1868. 

LSE Selected Pamphlets (1800-1899)- collection includes political party materials, resources from pressure groups and cooperative movements.

Manchester Selected Pamphlets 

Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection - a collection of 19th century anti-slavery pamphlets.

Further help
See the JSTOR user guide