Skip to main content

Database Guides: NexisUK

Information about using the various databases in the A-Z Online Resources,

About

What is it?

NexisUK is a collection of databases containing over 23,000 news and business resources from all over the world. 

NexisUK covers 176 UK newspapers, along with a wide range of company information such as Extel cards, Worldscope and older annual reports

What is it for?

Use NexisUK to find full text newspaper articles and company information.

How to access it

Login to the Portal and then choose NexisUK from the A-Z List of Online Resources

How to search

The database will start on the 'news screen'. Select a source from the appropriate menu and perform your search as shown below.  (Information on the content of these databases can be found by clicking on the blue i symbol next to the drop down menu.)

To search for comapny information select 'Companies' from the red tab menu at the top of the screen. The list of source will change and you will be able to select which company database to search within. (Information on the content of these databases can be found by clicking on the blue i symbol next to the drop down menu.)

See More Searching, below.

Full text?

Yes.

Further help

Click on "help" at the top right of the NexisUK screen.


More Searching

Search operators

Within NexisUK, you can use the following operators in your searches:

AND to narrow your search, e.g., Scotland AND children

OR to broaden your search, e.g., offense OR offence

AND NOT to exclude results, e.g., fraud AND NOT mortgage (use this with caution, as it can often remove useful results)

W/# for within a number of words, e.g., doctor W/5 malpractice

W/S to find words within the same sentence

W/P to find words within the same paragraph

Truncation: use ! at the end of a word, e.g., mone! will find money, monetary, monetarism, etc. This is different to most databases - the * will not truncate. In NexisUK, the * is used to find alternative spellings, e.g. int**net will find internet and intranet.

An excellent guide on how to construct searches in NexisUK is available on their website athttp://www.lexisnexis.com/help/global/GB/en_GB/gh_terms.asp

 

Searching for a newspaper article

  1. Choose 'News' from the top red tab.
  2. Enter your search terms
  3. Select the type of publication you want to search within
  4. Specify the date range of the article
  5. Click the search button to run your search

LexisNexis company search screen

Articles can be viewed, emailed and printed from the resulting screen.

Searching for company information

  1. Choose 'Companies' from the top red tab
  2. Enter your company name
  3. Select the type of source of company information
  4. Specify the date range required
  5. Click the search button to run your search

LexisNexis company search screen