Skip to main content

Database Guides: Maternity and Infant Care

Information about using the various databases in the A-Z Online Resources,

About

What is it?

Index to journal articles, books and reports on all aspects of midwifery and infant care. Over 550 English language journals are included from the mid 1980s to the present day.

What is it for?

Use it to find publications on midwifery related topics.

How to access it

Login to the Portal and then choose Maternity and Infant Care from the A-Z List of Online Resources.

How to search

See Successful Search Techniques.

See also More Searching below.

Full text?

Click on the Check WebBridge button Check WebBridge button. It provides links to the full text of the journal if available, or to the library catalogue to check if we have the item in paper format.

Other useful resources

See the Midwifery Research Guide or the Evidence Based Practice Research Guide

Further help
See the Help link in the top right hand corner or click on "Ask a Librarian" at the top of the search screen.

More Searching

The Advanced Ovid Search tab allows for more detailed searching.

Viewing Results

Click on Display in the search history box to view a list of your results.

Truncation

To truncate your search terms use either * or $ E.g. pregnan* will find either pregnant or pregnancy.

Map term to subject heading

This is a useful option for improving your search terms. Select this option to match your keyword against the thesaurus of terms used by the Maternity and Infant Care database.

Combining searches

Use the Search History box below the main search screen.

Limiting searches

Use the Additional Limits option below the main search screen. Searches may be limited by date or to particular aspects of healthcare e.g. neonatal and infant care.

Limiting to full text

It is not recommended to use the limit to full text option on Maternity and Infant Care. This option only looks for full text resources available from OVID, not the University of Stirling. Use the check WebBridge icon to check the library catalogue to see if the journal you require is available from one of our libraries.