Skip to main content

Database Guides: Medline via EBSCO

Information about using the various databases in the A-Z Online Resources,

About

What is it?

An index to the health, medical, biomedical and nursing literature. Medline contains references from over 4000 journals. It covers the period 1946 to present. What's the difference between Medline and PubMed?

What is it for?

Use it to find journal articles on healthcare topics.

How to access it

Choose Medline via EBSCO from the A-Z List of Online Resources.

How to search

See Successful Search Techniques.

See also More Searching below.

Full text?

Click on the Check WebBridge Check WebBridge button button. It provides links to the full text of the journal if available, or to the library catalogue to check if we have the item in paper format.

Refworks ?
Records can be downloaded into RefWorks (a software product for managing references and formatting bibliographies).

Other useful resources

See the Nursing or Midwifery Subject Guides. Medline can also be accessed via the OVID interface, see entry on A-Z list.

Further help
Click on "Ask a Librarian" at the top right of the search screen. Your enquiry will be sent to a Librarian at the University of Stirling. Useful factsheet on the difference between Medline and Pubmed is available here.
 

More Searching

Phrase searching: To search for a phrase, or two words together, enter within quotation marks, e.g. "infection control".

Truncation: use * at end of word stem to stand for truncation, e.g. infect* for infect, infected, infection and infectious.

Wildcard: use ? in middle of word, e.g. wom?n to search for woman and women.

Limiting to full text: it is not recommended to use the limit to full text option on Historical Abstracts. This option only looks for full text resources available from EBSCO, not the University of Stirling. Use the check WebBridge icon to check the library catalogue to see if the journal you require is available from the library.

Saving Searches: To save searches and set up alerts from Medline, use the My EBSCO Host option at the top of the main search screen.