Skip to main content

Database Guides: Medline via OVID

Information about using the various databases in the A-Z Online Resources,

About

What is it?

An index to the health, medical, biomedical and nursing literature. OVID Medline contains references from over 4000 journals. It covers the period 1946 to present and is updated weekly.

What is it for?

Use it to find journal articles for healthcare research. 

How to access it

Login to the Portal and then choose Medline via OVID from the A-Z List of Online Resources. 

How to search

See Successful Search Techniques.

 

Full text?      

 

 

RefWorks?               

Some full text is available. For more full text click on the Check WebBridge button Check WebBridge button, to check if the library subscribes to the text from another supplier, or to link to the library catalogue to find out if we have the item in paper format.

 

Records can be downloaded into RefWorks (a software product for managing references and formatting bibliographies).

Other useful resources

See the Nursing or Midwifery Subject Guides. Medline can also be accessed via the EBSCO interface, see entry on A-Z list.

Further help

Available from the top right of the search screen or click on "Ask a Librarian" at the top of the search screen. A userguide to the OVID SP platform is available. Alternatively the British Medical Association have produced a useful, detailed user guide to OVID Medline. A usefact sheet on the difference between Medline and Pubmed is available here