Skip to main content

Database Guides: JSTOR

Information about using the various databases in the A-Z Online Resources,

About

What is it?

JSTOR is a digital archive collection of core scholarly journals, mostly in the humanities and social sciences, starting with the first issues (many of which date from the 1800s). We subscribe to the Arts & Sciences I Collection and Arts & Sciences III Collection, Biological Sciences Archive and Ireland Collection. Years available vary with journal title. We also have access to the 19th Century Pamphlets Collection.

What is it for?

Use it to search for articles or 19th century pamphlets in the humanities and social sciences. Alternatively, use it to find the full text of specific journals in the humanities and social sciences. 

How to access it

On campus: Select JSTOR from the A-Z List of Online Resources

Off campus: Login to the Portal and then choose JSTOR from the A-Z List of Online Resources

Journals in JSTOR can also be accessed via the library catalogue

How to search

See Successful Search Techniques.

Choose to search by subject (Search) or journal (Browse). 

Full text?

Full text is available.

Other useful resources

See the Subject Research Guides

Further help
Click on Tips at the top of the search screens.
 
 
19th Century British Pamphlets Collection:
 
Bristol Selected Pamphlets - covers topics including 19th century commerce, economics, finance, politics, religion and society. 

Cowen Tracts - the collection of Joseph Cowen (1829-1900) a social reformer and MP for Newcastle on Tyne. 

Earl Grey Collection - from the 2nd, 3rd and 4th Earls Grey, topics covered include parliamentary reform, colonial affairs and Catholic emancipation. 

Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection (1545 - 1900). 

Hume Collection - personal collection of Joseph Hume (1777-1855), a radical Member of Parliament. Covers the major political, economic and social developments of the time. 

Knowsley Pamphlet Collection - reflects the political careers of the Earls of Derby, 1830-1868. 

LSE Selected Pamphlets (1800-1899)- collection includes political party materials, resources from pressure groups and cooperative movements.

Manchester Selected Pamphlets 

Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection - a collection of 19th century anti-slavery pamphlets.