Skip to main content

Database Guides: Geology Digimap

Information about using the various databases in the A-Z Online Resources,

About

Full name

Geology Digimap

What is it?

Geology Digimap is part of the Digimap Collection of on-line mapping and data delivery facilities. It is a collection of geological maps and data from the British Geological Survey. Users can view maps through their web browser, save maps for printing and download the geological map data for use in geographical information systems. There is also access to the Lexicon of Named Rock Units which has details for many of the rocks found on the map.

Geology Digimap is one of the Digimap Collections available from the Digimap Service.

 

What is it for?

Geology Digimap is for viewing, printing and dowloading geological maps and data.

Geology Digimap contains map data at scales ranging from 1:625,000 to 1:50,000 available for making maps online or for download. For a full list and detailed description see Digimap's Products Available page.

Complete coverage of Great Britain is available for all the products listed, except for a few areas of Wales at the most detailed level, at the moment. It is expected that the range of datasets that are available through Geology Digimap will increase over time.

If you want to know what you can and can't do with the maps and data from Digimap please read the Copyright Terms and Conditions. There is a set of Licence FAQs if you need more clarification about what you intend to do with the maps or data.

Standard tasks

Standard tasks that Geology Digimap allows you to perform are:

- selecting your area of interest in Great Britain by zooming and panning

- viewing maps at one of 12 pre-defined scales with Ordnance Survey background maps

- click on rocks to get more information from the Lexicon of Rock Units about them

- annotate the maps with symbols, lines, polygons and labels

- view photos of classic geological locations

 

Advanced tasks

In addition to the standard tasks listed above, Geology Digimap allows you to carry out a range of related, advanced tasks.

Download

Geology Download and Lexicon Download allow those with more specialist requirements to download map data for use in GIS software on their own desktop. They allow:

- selection of map data product and area to download

- data available in Shapefile and MIF/MID formats for use in a GIS

- data selected using National Grid reference, BGS sheet name, place name or from a map

 

For more information  see the Geology Digimap Help.

 

 

How to access it

Login to the Portal and then choose Geology Digimap from the A-Z List of online resources.

 

 

You must register to use Digimap: so the first time you access Digimap you will be requested to register. Enter your details, including your email address (it is essential your email address is entered correctly). Then an email will be sent to you containing a link to activate your account. Open the email and click on 'Verify email address'. After verifying your email address, when you login to Digimap you will be asked to agree to licences for each of the Digimap collections you wish to use. You will only need to agree to the licence once for each Digimap collection. For more details see Digimap Registration.

 

If you encounter any problems with registration contact the EDINA Help Desk: edina@ed.ac.uk.

 

 

Help

Support at Stirling provided by: John McArthur, Biological and Environmental Sciences, Email: j.n.mcarthur@stir.ac.uk. Phone: 01786 467853.

EDINA provides a lot of help via their Digimap Resource Centre. See also their Digimap Blog, YouTube Channel, Facebook Page and Twitter Account.

 

Geology Digimap Video

Link to Geology Digimap