Skip to main content

Database Guides: Environment Digimap

Information about using the various databases in the A-Z Online Resources,

About

Full name

Environment Digimap

What is it?

Environment Digimap offers land cover map data from the Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (CEH).

It is one of the Digimap Collections available from the Digimap Service.

 

What is it for?

Environment Digimap offers two facilities: mapping through Environment Roam, and the ability to download data through Environment Download.

The data available, CEH’s Land Cover Map products, provide a snapshot of land cover for each of the years 1990, 2000 and 2007.

There are raster datasets available at 25m and 1km resolutions for each year and a vector version of the 2000 dataset.The data are in a range of formats depending on the year.

More details are available in the Environment Digimap Help Pages.

University of Stirling also has access to: Digimap Ordnance Survey Data Collection and Historic Digimap

 

 

How to access it

Login to the Portal and then choose Environment Digimap from the A-Z List of online resources.

 

You must register to use Digimap: so the first time you access Digimap you will be requested to register. Enter your details, including your email address (it is essential your email address is entered correctly). Then an email will be sent to you containing a link to activate your account. Open the email and click on 'Verify email address'. After verifying your email address, when you login to Digimap you will be asked to agree to licences for each of the Digimap collections you wish to use. You will only need to agree to the licence once for each Digimap collection. For more details see Digimap Registration.

 

If you encounter any problems with registration contact the EDINA Help Desk: edina@ed.ac.uk.

 

 

Help

Support at Stirling provided by: John McArthur, Biological and Environmental Sciences, Email: j.n.mcarthur@stir.ac.uk. Phone: 01786 467853.

See EDINA's Environment Digimap Help Pages.

EDINA provides a lot of help via their Digimap Resource Centre.  They also provide a range of useful presentations detailing the key functions of each Digimap Collection.

 

See also EDINA's Digimap Blog, YouTube Channel, Facebook Page and Twitter Account.

 

Printing eps files from Digimap:

Digimap allows users to print maps, either directly from a Web browser, or if higher quality is required by downloading an EPS image file of a map, which can then be printed on a suitable local printer.

Before you get to the printing stage you may have problems opening and viewing eps files in Internet Explorer, you should make sure any pop up window blockers are switched off (or use an alternative browser, for example, Firefox browser)

In computing labs on campus: Double click the "PrintFile" Icon on the PC desktop (not all computer labs  have this, but it works in computer lab 3V3). Click on "Print File...", select your .eps file, select "OK" to queue the print job. A "Print File warning" will appear, click "Yes" to proceed. Then it's the standard procedure to release your print job from any Pharos print station.

If you are printing from your own PC or your office - see the eps printing advice from EDINA.

 

Environment Digimap Video

Link to Environment Digimap