Skip to main content

Database Guides: Aqualine

Information about using the various databases in the A-Z Online Resources,

About

Full name

Aqualine

 

What is it?

The Aqualine database provides comprehensive focus on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources. Major subjects of coverage include water resources and supplies management, water legislation, water quality, potable water distribution, wastewater collection, water treatment technologies, wastewater and sewage treatment, and ecological and environmental effects of water pollution. Articles on these topics are drawn from a source list of approximately 300 journals as well as from conference proceedings, scientific reports, books and theses. Date coverage from 1960 onwards, beginning June 2004 it is updated monthly.

 

What is it for?

Use to find literature concerning all aspects of water resources

 

How to access it

Login to the Portal and then choose Aqualine from the A-Z List of Online Resources.

 

How to search

See Successful Search Techniques.

There is an Easy Search Option but we recommend selecting the Advanced Search to find every article with a mention of your topic or for a topic that has had relatively little work done on it.  Otherwise, carry out a thesaurus search (Water Resources Thesaurus).

From the Advanced Search screen select the type of search you wish to conduct from the drop-down box
e.g. Choose All Fields, to search all fields in the citation and abstract.

Truncation: use * at the end of a word, e.g., feed* will find feeds , feeding, feedstuff, etc.

Spelling variants: The search is automatically set up to recognise spelling variants of American and British versions of words, for example, a search for behaviour will automatically find both behaviour and behavior 

Use Field searching to be precise:

e.g., type in aquaculture and select Document Title - TI from the drop-down box to find items where aquaculture appears in the title of the article

Thesaurus Search: Use the Water Resources Thesaurus (above the Advanced Search boxes on the right) to improve your search: it will find articles where your search term is one of the main topics in the article. .

Combining searches: searches can be combined by selecting the recent searches link at the top righthand side of the Advanced Search screen. Then type the search set numbers to combine searches, for example: 2 and 3

 

Full text?

Click on the Check WebBridge button Check WebBridge button, which provides links to the full text of the journal if available, or to the library catalogue, to check if we have the item in paper format.

 

 

Refworks?

Records can be downloaded into RefWorks (a software product for managing references and formatting bibliographies).

 

 

Further help
Click on Help (top righthand side).

Link to Aqualine