It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Index for finding journal articles, and other types of publications, on biological and biomedical topics.
Subjects range from traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology and microbiology to related fields such as agriculture, pharmacology, biochemistry, ecology, bioengineering, and experimental clinical medicine.
If you are using Internet Explorer 9 web browser and experience problems with BIOSIS, click here for information: http://wok.mimas.ac.uk/news/2011/20110520.html
Index primarily for finding journal articles. Covers biological science including: animal behaviour, aquatic life & fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology, genetics, health & safety science, entomology and neuroscience. Includes the renowned database MEDLINE (covers life sciences with a focus on biomedicine). Includes some full-text.
The largest international abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Searches 45.5 million records from 5,000 different publishers covering many different subjects.
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Full text of the well known weekly journal that covers the latest news, ideas and discoveries from every field of science and technology. Enter your search and it will automatically be limited to searching the New Scientist.
Open access materials from Latin America, the Caribbean and South African. SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) provides access to literature from a range of disciplines including agriculture, biology, earth sciences, engineering, health, human sciences, linguistics, letters and arts, maths, physics and social sciences. Searches can be conducted in English, Spanish or Portuguese. Materials cover 1997 onwards.