Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Scottish Newspaper Society

Collection information

Collection: Scottish Newspaper Society

Collection Ref.: GB 0559 SNS

Administrative history:

The Scottish Newspaper Society is a trade organization representing local, regional and national Scottish newspapers (and selected UK titles with a Scottish edition). Its role is to represent, protect and promote the industry. It has replaced / merged with a number of other orginizations including the Scottish Daily Newspaper Society, the Scottish Newspapers Proprietors Association and the Scottish Newspapers Publishers Association. The collection includes material relating to industrial relations, press regulation, the local newspaper industry in Scotland, the distribution of the press in Scotland and the Scottish Press Awards.

Contents:

Minutes, reports, correspondence of the Scottish Daily Newspaper Society, Scottish Newspapers Publisher’s Association, Scottish Newspapers Proprietor’s Association and Scottish Newspaper Society (1943-2009); memorabilia and publications (1915-2009).

Extent: 11 boxes

Additional collection information

Access conditions:

Please contact us in advance of a visit or use the request form.

A box list is available for consultation in the archives reading room.

Collection image

 

 

Using the collection

Archives Reading Room

Opening Hours:

9.30 am - 1.00 pm / 2.00 pm - 4.45 pm

Monday - Friday

Contact us:

Tel. 01786 466619

Email: archives@stir.ac.uk

Please contact us in advance of your visit and use the request form to order material you wish to consult.