Collection: Willie Carmichael
Collection ref.: GB 0059 WC
Biography:
Willie Carmichael (1905-1988) was Director of Organisation for the 1970 Edinburgh Commonwealth Games. His involvement in the Commonwealth Games began in 1934 at the London Empire Games where he was Manager of the Scottish Wrestling team and also a judge in the Wrestling competition. In 1948 he was appointed Vice-Chairman of Commonwealth Games Scotland. He served as Chairman of Commonwealth Games Scotland from 1950-1955 and Secretary from 1956-1979. He was also appointed Scotland Team Manager for the 1954 Vancouver Games. He received an O.B.E. in 1971 for his services to the Commonwealth Games and served on the Council of the Commonwealth Games Federation from 1974-1975.
The family of Willie Carmichael have kindly donated his collection of sporting memorabilia to the University of Stirling Archives. A number of items from the collection feature in our touring Hosts and Champions exhibition.
Contents:
Documents, publications, promotional material, memorabilia and photographs relating to the Commonwealth Games, from London 1934 to Edinburgh 1986 Games. The collection also includes material relating to other sporting events including athletics, wrestling and Olympic Games (1924-1983); also includes 16mm home cine film of sporting events in Edinburgh and Glasgow including Highland Games (1947-1950).
The collection is fully listed. Collection information is currently being added to our online catalogue. A full list of the contents of the collection can be consulted in our archives reading room.
Custodial history: This material in this collection was donated to the University of Stirling Archives by the family of Willie Carmichael in 2015.
Accruals: No further additions are expected.
Access conditions: The collection is fully catalogued and available for consultation in our archives reading room. Please contact the University Archivist for further details.
Related collections: Other sporting collections held in the Univeristy of Stirling Archives include:
Sir Peter Heatly (1924-2015), winner of gold medals for diving at three consecutive Commonwealth Games in the 1950s, Vice Chair of the 1970 Edinburgh Games and Chair of the Commonwealth Games Federation from 1982-1990
Please contact the University Archivist for further details.
Language: English
Additional information:
Hosts and Champions: Scotland in the Commonwealth Games is a touring exhibition which features material from the Willie Carmichael Archive. It celebrates the story of Scotland's contribution to, and participation in, the Commonwealth Games, beginning with the first competition in Hamilton, Canada, in 1930.
Willie Carmichael, photographed by The Scotsman newspaper in 1967.
The Ninth British Commonwealth Games took place in Edinburgh from the 16th to the 25th of July 1970. It was the first time the Games were held in Scotland. Explore a selection of documents, reports and newsletters relating to the Games on our new JSTOR / JISC Open Community Collections pages.
Our Hosts and Champions touring exhibition tells the story of Scotland's contribution to the Commonwealth Games through a display of material from the Commonwealth Games Scotland Archive. Find out more about the exhibition and details of upcoming events on our Hosts and Champions page.
Archives Reading Room
Opening Hours:
10.00 am - 1.00 pm / 2.00 pm - 4.00 pm
Monday - Friday
Contact us:
Tel. 01786 466619
Email: archives@stir.ac.uk
Please contact us in advance of your visit. Material can be ordered in advance by emailing us at archives@stir.ac.uk